Home 2017-09-14T10:55:09+00:00
group of surprised and smiling students

Welcome to Elkhart!

New to Elkhart? We’re excited to welcome you to Elkhart Community Schools! See the ECS Registration page and Kindergarten Registration for registration information.

Students standing in front of a car

ECS News and Happenings

Keep up to date with Elkhart Community Schools through our ECS district Facebook page, our ECS district Twitter feed, our media/news stories page, and our district newsletter!

School Delays & Closings

Visit our School Delays and Closings page for up-to-date information on delays and closings for ECS, and learn more about text alerts, delay guidelines for before school programs, and make-up dates.

ECS Elementary School Hours are 8:35am to 3:35pm (on Wednesdays, elementary students are dismissed at 2:55pm).

ECS Middle and High School Hours are 7:25am to 2:40pm (on Wednesdays, middle and high school students are dismissed at 2:00pm).

Mary Beck Elementary and Roosevelt STEAM Academy hours are 8:45am to 3:35pm (on Wednesdays, Beck and Roosevelt students are dismissed at 2:55pm).


Elkhart Community Schools recognizes that good communication between the school and parents is critical to a child’s success. Our schools are ready to answer your questions or address any concerns you may have. For contact information for your child’s school, please see the Schools page.

We also recognize that when our offices are closed, you may still have questions about your child’s progress. PowerSchool is the Elkhart Community Schools’ online portal for all student information, including report cards, test scores, absences/tardies and monitoring lunch money balances. PowerSchool is used district-wide and updated in real time.

Elkhart Community Schools also uses School Messenger, a program that aids us in contacting parents with messages about school, including closings and delays. Parents are able to set their preferences to receive text alerts, emails and phone calls for a variety of subject matters through School Messenger. Access to your School Messenger account is done through PowerSchool’s Contact Manager.

Ways to communicate with the school and district:

It is our goal to engage not only children in the educational process, but also parents and the community.

In the fall of 2015, Elkhart Community Schools embarked on the development of a strategic plan designed to guide the direction of the district from 2017-2022. Initial steps in the process included community meetings and surveys led by Ball State University, then the establishment of a focus group comprised of parents, staff members, and community members who presented the Board of School Trustees with recommendations. The Board established a series of community meetings over June-July 2016 to receive community input. Throughout the process, the Board has carefully considered the community feedback as they developed the strategic plan. The Board adopted the plan in October 2016.

Visit our Strategic Plan page to learn more: http://elkhart.k12.in.us/StrategicPlan

The Elkhart Difference: News from ECS

  • Manufacturing Days

    Manufacturing Days Elkhart Middle School students are exploring career opportunities here in their hometown. Students from North Side, West Side, and Pierre Moran Middle School spent the first week of October traveling to a [...]

  • Inside ECS: Heidi Pawling, Head Secretary Woodland Elementary

    Inside ECS: Heidi Pawling, Head Secretary Woodland Elementary “What can we do to help you and your child?” Heidi Pawling, head secretary at Woodland Elementary, has focused her job around this initiative: helping children [...]

  • Inside ECS – Tessa Sutton

    Inside ECS – Tessa Sutton Maya Angelou said, “I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” As [...]

  • Inside ECS – Tracy Borger, Riverview

    Inside ECS – Tracy Borger, Riverview Most people can’t say they knew at five what they wanted to be when they grew up. But for Tracy Borger, first grade teacher at Riverview Elementary, the [...]

  • College/Career: Construction Trades partners with apprenticeship program

    College/Career: Construction Trades partners with apprenticeship program Elkhart Community Schools has received a grant of $1,277,000 from Lilly Endowment Inc. as part of the Endowment’s Comprehensive Counseling Initiative for Indiana K-12 Students. Elkhart Community [...]

  • Dollars for Scholars

    Dollars for Scholars In 1958, in Fall River, Massachusetts, an optometrist had a simple idea. Dr. Irving Fradkin believed if everyone could give one dollar to an educational fund, it would be enough to [...]

  • Friendship Bench to Honor Mrs. Spry

    Friendship Bench to Honor Mrs. Spry When someone retires from a school they leave behind the students, the staff, their classroom, and in Cathy Spry’s case, the playground. Spry worked for Elkhart Community schools [...]

Why Elkhart Community Schools

  • Hands-on learning, beginning in Pre-K and kindergarten
  • Largest agricultural program in the state of Indiana
  • More AP and dual credit classes than any other school district in Elkhart County
  • Award-winning Elkhart Area Career Center that features 28 programs and serves 16 neighboring school districts
  • Highly awarded extra-curricular offerings, including a wide range of music programs, clubs and athletic teams, performing and fine arts
  • Partnerships with leading higher education institutions, including University of Notre Dame, Indiana University South Bend, Ivy Tech Community College, Vincennes University, and IUPUI
  • Partnerships with leading Elkhart businesses and non-profits, ensuring work study, internship, and volunteer opportunities for students
  • Comprehensive support for students and families inside and outside the classroom