Elkhart Central High School

The original “Old Central” school in downtown Elkhart (first constructed in 1868) served as the initial high school building for Elkhart, serving students at that location through 1965, when the present Elkhart Central High School building opened as Elkhart High School. In 1972, Elkhart Memorial High School was opened and the Elkhart High School facility became Elkhart Central High School. In the fall of 2020, for one year, the current Elkhart Central High School building will become Elkhart High School – East Campus, and then in the fall of 2021 will house the Freshman Division for the reconstituted Elkhart High School. Students in grades 10 through 12 will attend classes on the campus of the current Elkhart Memorial High School and Elkhart Area Career Center. For more information on the history of Elkhart High School, click HERE.

Elkhart Central offers over 200 courses designed to provide students with a curriculum that meets state standards but also engages them in the learning process based on their skills and interests. Elkhart Central’s highly regarded Advanced Placement program offers college-level courses in the areas of English, mathematics, science, art, computer science, music theory, and social studies.  The Elkhart Central Early College program has helped students to earn over 11,000 college credits in the past few years.

Elkhart Community Schools is a partner with the Elkhart Health Fitness Aquatics and Community Center. This first-class regional aquatics center is available to the public and serves as the site for the school district’s swimming program.

School Hours and Location

School Hours: 7:25 am to 2:40 pm; students are dismissed at 2:00 pm on Mondays.
Office Hours: 7:00 am to 3:30 pm
School Address: 1 Blazer Boulevard, Elkhart IN 46516-4565
Phone Number: 574-295-4700

 

News/Upcoming Events

Please visit our News page to see the latest Central news and for a list of upcoming events!

 

Breakfast/Lunch Menus

At Elkhart Community Schools Food Services, we know that good nutrition and learning go hand in hand! The Nutrition Services department is made up of a team of food and nutrition professionals who are dedicated to students’ health, well being, and their ability to learn. We support learning by promoting healthy habits for lifelong nutrition and fitness practices. Click here to see the ECS Food Services page, including menus.

 

Official School Policies

We invite you to review the Elkhart Community Schools’ Notice of Non-Discrimination and Student Handbook as adopted by the Elkhart Community Schools Board of School Trustees. All district-wide school forms can be found on the Elkhart Community Schools Policies and Forms page.

 

School Delays and Closings

Please visit the Elkhart Community Schools’ School Delay and Closing page for up-to-date, accurate information about school closings and delays, as well as make-up schedules. The district will also post about school closings and delays on the official ECS Facebook page and the official ECS Twitter page.

 

Faculty/Staff Directory

ADMINISTRATION
Serge, Frank Principal fserge@elkhart.k12.in.us
Berheide, Kelly Vice Principal kberheide@elkhart.k12.in.us
Adams, JeNeva Assistant Principal jdadams@elkhart.k12.in.us
Bird, David Assistant Principal dbird@elkhart.k12.in.us
Werbiansky, Matthew Assistant Principal mwerbiansky@elkhart.k12.in.us
Draper, Gail District Counseling Director gdraper@elkhart.k12.in.us
Buckley, Brian Athletic Director bbuckley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shattuck, Joshua Asst. Athletic Director jshattuck@elkhart.k12.in.us
OFFICE SUPPORT
Behling, Susan Secretary sbehling@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Delks, Betsy Athletics Secretary bdelks@elkhart.k12.in.us
Krull, Rosemary Secretary/Office Manager rkrull@elkhart.k12.in.us
Maxson, Maribel Secretary mmaxson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Skipper, Cody School Resource Officer ctskipper@elkhart.k12.in.us
Wirt, Amanda Secretary awirt@elkhart.k12.in.us
Wyatt, Dana Secretary/Treasurer dwyatt@elkhart.k12.in.us
COUNSELING
Flagg, Sarah Counseling Dept. Chair sflagg@elkhart.k12.in.us
Brown, Sheila Secretary sbrown@elkhart.k12.in.us
Elonich, Heidi Counselor helonich@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hobson, Teresa Registrar thobson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Maller, Elise Counselor emaller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Tracey Attendance Social Worker millert@elkhart.k12.in.us
Roberson, Regina Counselor rroberson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Simon, Sherwin Social Worker ssimon@elkhart.k12.in.us
Werbiansky, Christina Counselor cwerbiansky@elkhart.k12.in.us
ART
Sokolowski, Elizabeth Art Dept. Chair esokolowski@elkhart.k12.in.us
Harrington, Kelly Art Teacher kharrington@elkhart.k12.in.us
Jager, Ashley Art Teacher ajager@elkhart.k12.in.us
BUSINESS
Pletcher, Patti Business Dept. Chair ppletcher@elkhart.k12.in.us
Donigan, Rodney Business Teacher rdonigan@elkhart.k12.in.us
Drews, Mike Business Teacher mdrews@elkhart.k12.in.us
Jerzak, Julie Business Teacher jjerzak@elkhart.k12.in.us
Riley, Janet Business Teacher jriley@elkhart.k12.in.us
ENGLISH
Korn, Tracy English Dept. Chair tkorn@elkhart.k12.in.us
Baker, Kristin English Teacher kebaker@elkhart.k12.in.us
Buckley, Kelly English Teacher kbuckley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Dubois, Colleen English Teacher mjonesdubois@elkhart.k12.in.us
Elli, Janis English Teacher jelli@elkhart.k12.in.us
Fleischer, Michelle English Teacher mfleischer@elkhart.k12.in.us
Gonzalez, Tamara English Teacher tgonzalez@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hill, Kylie English Teacher khill@elkhart.k12.in.us
Lesniewicz, Kyle English Teacher klesniewicz@elkhart.k12.in.us
Olson, Jesse English Teacher jdolson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Ortiz de Carrocio, Vilma Paraprofessional vcarrocioortiz@elkhart.k12.in.us
Riblet, Krista English Teacher kriblet@elkhart.k12.in.us
Smith, Leslie English Teacher lsmith@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stine, Amy English Teacher astine@elkhart.k12.in.us
Townsley, Brittany English Teacher btownsley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Westra-Hall, Jason English Teacher
FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCE
Gorden, Anita FACS Dept. Chair agorden@elkhart.k12.in.us
Burlingame, Luann FACS Teacher lburlingame@elkhart.k12.in.us
Higley, Jennifer FACS Teacher jrhigley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Weaver, Stevi FACS Teacher sweaver@elkhart.k12.in.us
MATHEMATICS
Nelson, Jena Math Dept. Chair jnelson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Bahbah, Neil Math Teacher nbahbah@elkhart.k12.in.us
Dean, Kate Math Teacher kedean@elkhart.k12.in.us
Fritschi, Rachel Math Teacher
Halloran-Barnes, Jill Math Teacher jbarnes@elkhart.k12.in.us
Horvath, Melissa Math Teacher mhorvath@elkhart.k12.in.us
Kirkton, Jonathan Math Teacher jkirkton@elkhart.k12.in.us
Mackiewicz, Jim Math Teacher jmackiewicz@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Kent Math Teacher kentmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Nilsen, Lindsay Math Teacher lnilsen@elkhart.k12.in.us
Starzyk, Cara Math Teacher cstarzyk@elkhart.k12.in.us
Wilson, Sasha Math Teacher swilson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Windy, Matt Math Teacher mwindy@elkhart.k12.in.us
MEDIA
Compton, Bradley Media Dept. Chair bcompton@elkhart.k12.in.us
Homan, Laura Tech. Asst., Computers lhoman@elkhart.k12.in.us
MUSIC
Niederer, William Music Chair/Choral, Theory wniederer@elkhart.k12.in.us
Baier, Laura Choral Accompanist lbaier@elkhart.k12.in.us
Brannock, Robert Ass’t Band Director rbrannock@elkhart.k12.in.us
Burton, Dan Ass’t Band Director dburton@elkhart.k12.in.us
Elliott, David Ass’t Band Director delliott@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hatfield, Jeffery Ass’t Orchestra Director jhatfield@elkhart.k12.in.us
Iavagnilio, Sandy Secretary siavagnilio@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Kyle Ass’t Orchestra Director kmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Reinert, Jeff Choral Director jreinert@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Tyson, Joshua Choral Director, Piano jtyson@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Weirich, Kyle Orchestra Director kweirich@elkhart.k12.in.us
Whitehead, Allan Band Director awhitehead@elkhart.k12.in.us
PHYSICAL EDUCATION & HEALTH
Dickerson, Missie PE & Health Dept. Chair mdickerson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Erlacher, Matt PE Teacher merlacher@elkhart.k12.in.us
Garretson, Amy Health Teacher agarretson@elkhart.k12.in.us  
Sekal, Scott PE & Health Teacher ssekal@elkhart.k12.in.us
Singrey, Barry PE Teacher bsingrey@elkhart.k12.in.us
SCIENCE
Jantzen, Eric Science Dept. Chair ejantzen@elkhart.k12.in.us
Barnes, Scott Science Teacher sbarnes@elkhart.k12.in.us
Cisneros, Erin Science Teacher ecisneros@elkhart.k12.in.us
Dauerty, Helene Science Teacher hdauerty@elkhart.k12.in.us
Helfrick-Henderson, Sandra Science Teacher
Hren, Jeremy Science Teacher jhren@elkhart.k12.in.us
Lawdenski, Dana Science Teacher dlawdenski@elkhart.k12.in.us
Loth, Dan Science Teacher dloth@elkhart.k12.in.us
McClelland, Paul Science Teacher pmcclelland@elkhart.k12.in.us
Milton-Watt, Kristen Science Teacher kwatt@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shull, Jolynn Science Teacher jshull@elkhart.k12.in.us
VanDerKwast, Patrick Science Teacher
SOCIAL STUDIES
Starzyk, Steve Social Studies Dept. Chair sstarzyk@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hicks, David Social Studies Teacher dhicks@elkhart.k12.in.us
Leeling, James Social Studies Teacher jleeling@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Tanisha Social Studies Teacher tdmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Perkey, Matthew Social Studies Teacher mperkey@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shattuck, Joshua Social Studies Teacher jshattuck@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shenk, Bekah Social Studies Teacher bshenk@elkhart.k12.in.us
Smith, Terry Social Studies Teacher tsmith@elkhart.k12.in.us
Warstler, Haley Social Studies Teacher hwarstler@elkhart.k12.in.us
Whickcar, Zach Social Studies Teacher zwhickcar@elkhart.k12.in.us
SPECIAL EDUCATION
Holt, Lori Special Ed. Dept. Chair lholt@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Brown, Angela Special Ed. Teacher abrown@elkhart.k12.in.us
Conway, Carrie Paraprofessional cconway@elkhart.k12.in.us
East, Cindi Special Ed. Teacher ceast@elkhart.k12.in.us
Eby, Greg Paraprofessional geby@elkhart.k12.in.us
Foster, Barbara Paraprofessional dfoster@elkhart.k12.in.us
French, Cody Special Ed. Teacher efrench@elkhart.k12.in.us
Guthrie, Julie Special Ed. Teacher jguthrie@elkhart.k12.in.us
Jones, Tim Special Ed. Teacher tjones@elkhart.k12.in.us
Reid, Kelly Special Ed. Teacher kreid@elkhart.k12.in.us
Roscoe, Jan Paraprofessional jroscoe@elkhart.k12.in.us
Scott, Margret Paraprofessional mscott@elkhart.k12.in.us
Smith, Thelma Paraprofessional thelmas@elkhart.k12.in.us
Watt, Cory Special Ed. Teacher cwatt@elkhart.k12.in.us
Weirich, Tracey Special Ed. Teacher tweirich@elkhart.k12.in.us
TECHNOLOGY & SPECIAL PROGRAMS
Elli, Theodore Technology Dept. Chair telli@elkhart.k12.in.us
Kemble, Jennifer JAG Program jkemble@elkhart.k12.in.us
Rossi, Frank Air Force JROTC frossi@elkhart.k12.in.us
Sims, Yoketha Air Force JROTC ysims@elkhart.k12.in.us
WORLD LANGUAGES/ENL
Schneider, April Dept. Chair/Spanish aschneider@elkhart.k12.in.us
Bertram, Joni ENL/Spanish Teacher jbertram@elkhart.k12.in.us
Burgess, Alexis ENL Teacher aburgess@elkhart.k12.in.us
DeVries, Maria ENL/Fr./Span. Teacher mdevries@elkhart.k12.in.us
Duff, Pam Spanish Teacher pduff@elkhart.k12.in.us
Espinosa, Jennifer French Teacher jespinosa@elkhart.k12.in.us
Fritschi, Susan German Teacher sfritschi@elkhart.k12.in.us
Garcia, Angela ENL Teacher apgarcia@elkhart.k12.in.us
Grubaugh, Faith ENL Teacher fgrubaugh@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hollett, Hiromi Japanese Teacher hhollett@elkhart.k12.in.us
House-James, Dinita Paraprofessional dhousejames@elkhart.k12.in.us
Short, Melissa Spanish Teacher mshort@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stauffer, Laura ASL Teacher lstauffer@elkhart.k12.in.us
Torres, Katrina Paraprofessional ktorres@elkhart.k12.in.us
Westbrook, Jason Latin Teacher jwestbrook@elkhart.k12.in.us
SUPPORT STAFF
Birkey, Cheryl Food Services Manager cbirkey@elkhart.k12.in.us
Coatie, Will ISS Supervisor wcoatie@elkhart.k12.in.us
Davila, Juan APEX Supervisor jdavila@elkhart.k12.in.us
Greene, William Detention Supervisor wgreene@elkhart.k12.in.us
Kinkaide, Jeff Head Custodian jkinkaide@elkhart.k12.in.us  
Kitt, Ben Building Engineer bkitt@elkhart.k12.in.us  
Freeland, Wendy Nurse wfreeland@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stahl, John Security Desk jstahl@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stahl, Yolanda Study Hall Supervisor ystahl@elkhart.k12.in.us 

 

School Improvement Plan

To see the Elkhart Central School Improvement Plan, please click here: Central School Improvement Plan.

 

 

Alumni Information

We’re proud of the long-standing alumni community who found success through Elkhart Central. Please check back here for information about upcoming Alumni events.

Did you lose your yearbook, or forget to buy a yearbook when you were a student at Elkhart Central? The yearbook staff has copies for sale of some editions!  Contact yearbook sponsor Mrs. Amy Stine (astine@elkhart.k12.in.us) to see if you can still purchase one!