School Information2018-09-14T10:36:35+00:00

 

Elkhart Central High School

The original “Old Central” school in downtown Elkhart (first constructed in 1868) served as the initial high school building for Elkhart, serving students at that location through 1965, when the present Elkhart Central High School building opened as Elkhart High School. For more information on the history of Elkhart High School, click HERE.  In 1972,  Elkhart Memorial High School was opened and the Elkhart High School facility became Elkhart Central High School.

Elkhart Central offers over 200 courses designed to provide students with a curriculum that meets state standards but also engages them in the learning process based on their skills and interests. Elkhart Central’s highly regarded Advanced Placement program offers college-level courses in the areas of English, mathematics, science, art, computer science, music theory, and social studies.  The Elkhart Central Early College program has helped students to earn over 11,000 college credits in the past two years.

School Hours and Location

School Hours: 7:25 am to 2:40 pm; students are dismissed at 2:00 pm on Mondays.
Office Hours: 7:00 am to 3:30 pm
School Address: 1 Blazer Boulevard, Elkhart IN 46516-4565
Phone Number: 574-295-4700

 

News/Upcoming Events

Please visit our News page to see the latest Central news and for a list of upcoming events!

 

Breakfast/Lunch Menus

At Elkhart Community Schools Food Services, we know that good nutrition and learning go hand in hand! The Nutrition Services department is made up of a team of food and nutrition professionals who are dedicated to students’ health, well being, and their ability to learn. We support learning by promoting healthy habits for lifelong nutrition and fitness practices. Click here to see the ECS Food Services page, including menus.

 

Official School Policies

We invite you to review the Elkhart Community Schools’ Notice of Non-Discrimination and Student Handbook as adopted by the Elkhart Community Schools Board of School Trustees. All district-wide school forms can be found on the Elkhart Community Schools Policies and Forms page.

 

School Delays and Closings

Please visit the Elkhart Community Schools’ School Delay and Closing page for up-to-date, accurate information about school closings and delays, as well as make-up schedules. The district will also post about school closings and delays on the official ECS Facebook page and the official ECS Twitter page.

 

Faculty/Staff Directory

ADMINISTRATION
Serge, Frank Principal fserge@elkhart.k12.in.us
Berheide, Kelly Vice Principal kberheide@elkhart.k12.in.us
Grasty, Jason Assistant Principal jgrasty@elkhart.k12.in.us
Harrison, Rhiannon Assistant Principal rharrison@elkhart.k12.in.us
Sassaman, Scott Assistant Principal ssassaman@elkhart.k12.in.us
Ward, JeNeva Assistant Principal jdadams@elkhart.k12.in.us
Draper, Gail District Guidance Director gdraper@elkhart.k12.in.us
Buckley, Brian Athletic Director bbuckley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shattuck, Joshua Asst. Athletic Director jshattuck@elkhart.k12.in.us
OFFICE SUPPORT
Behling, Susan Secretary sbehling@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Delks, Betsy Athletics Secretary bdelks@elkhart.k12.in.us
Krull, Rosemary Secretary/Office Manager rkrull@elkhart.k12.in.us
Maxson, Maribel Secretary mmaxson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Skipper, Cody School Resource Officer ctskipper@elkhart.k12.in.us
Wirt, Amanda Secretary awirt@elkhart.k12.in.us
Wyatt, Dana Secretary/Treasurer dwyatt@elkhart.k12.in.us
ART
Sokolowski, Elizabeth Art Dept. Chair esokolowski@elkhart.k12.in.us
Harrington, Kelly Art Teacher kharrington@elkhart.k12.in.us
Jager, Ashley Art Teacher ajager@elkhart.k12.in.us
BUSINESS
Pletcher, Patti Business Dept. Chair ppletcher@elkhart.k12.in.us
Drews, Mike Business Teacher mdrews@elkhart.k12.in.us
Jerzak, Julie (eff. 10/1/18) Business Teacher
Riley, Janet Business Teacher jriley@elkhart.k12.in.us
ENGLISH
Korn, Tracy English Dept. Chair tkorn@elkhart.k12.in.us
Baker, Kristin English Teacher kebaker@elkhart.k12.in.us
Buckley, Kelly English Teacher kbuckley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Dubois, Colleen English Teacher mjonesdubois@elkhart.k12.in.us
Elli, Janis English Teacher jelli@elkhart.k12.in.us
Fleischer, Michelle English Teacher mfleischer@elkhart.k12.in.us
Gonzalez, Tamara English Teacher tgonzalez@elkhart.k12.in.us
Gravender, Kris English Teacher kgravender@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hill, Kylie English Teacher khill@elkhart.k12.in.us
Lesniewicz, Kyle English Teacher klesniewicz@elkhart.k12.in.us
Olson, Jesse English Teacher jdolson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Riblet, Krista English Teacher kriblet@elkhart.k12.in.us
Smith, Leslie English Teacher lsmith@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stine, Amy English Teacher astine@elkhart.k12.in.us
Townsley, Brittany English Teacher btownsley@elkhart.k12.in.us
FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCE
Gorden, Anita FACS Dept. Chair agorden@elkhart.k12.in.us
Burlingame, Luann FACS Teacher lburlingame@elkhart.k12.in.us
Jackson, Desiree FACS Teacher dkjackson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Weaver, Stevi FACS Teacher sweaver@elkhart.k12.in.us
GUIDANCE
Flagg, Sarah Guidance Dept. Chair sflagg@elkhart.k12.in.us
Bradshaw, Carol Secretary cbradshaw@elkhart.k12.in.us
Burns, Jerica Guidance Counselor jburns@elkhart.k12.in.us
Chavez-Morales, Nora Guidance Counselor nchavezmorales@elkhart.k12.in.us
Curry, Courtney Sec’y/Registrar ccurry@elkhart.k12.in.us
Gingrich, Bonnie Guidance Counselor bkgingrich@elkhart.k12.in.us
Kelley, Michael Guidance Counselor mkelley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Roberson, Regina Guidance Counselor rroberson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Simon, Sherwin Social Worker ssimon@elkhart.k12.in.us
MATHEMATICS
Nelson, Jena Math Dept. Chair jnelson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Bahbah, Neil Math Teacher nbahbah@elkhart.k12.in.us
Clear, Heather Math Teacher hclear@elkhart.k12.in.us
Dean, Kate Math Teacher kedean@elkhart.k12.in.us
Guzman, Emily Math Teacher eguzman@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Halloran-Barnes, Jill Math Teacher jbarnes@elkhart.k12.in.us
Horvath, Melissa Math Teacher mhorvath@elkhart.k12.in.us
Kirkton, Jonathan Math Teacher jkirkton@elkhart.k12.in.us
Mackiewicz, Jim Math Teacher jmackiewicz@elkhart.k12.in.us
McDonald, Luccas Math Teacher lmcdonald@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Kent Math Teacher kentmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Starzyk, Cara Math Teacher cstarzyk@elkhart.k12.in.us
Wilson, Sasha Math Teacher swilson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Windy, Matt Math Teacher mwindy@elkhart.k12.in.us
Young, Jami Math Teacher jyoung@elkhart.k12.in.us
MEDIA
Compton, Bradley Media Dept. Chair bcompton@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hobson, Teresa Secretary thobson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Homan, Laura Tech. Asst., Computers lhoman@elkhart.k12.in.us
MUSIC
Niederer, William Music Chair/Choral, Theory wniederer@elkhart.k12.in.us
Baier, Laura Choral Accompanist lbaier@elkhart.k12.in.us
Burton, Dan Ass’t Band Director dburton@elkhart.k12.in.us
Cook, Sean Ass’t Band Director scook@elkhart.k12.in.us
Elliott, David Band Director delliott@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hatfield, Jeffery Ass’t Orchestra Director jhatfield@elkhart.k12.in.us
Kline, Betty Lou Secretary bkline@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Kyle Ass’t Orchestra Director kmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Reinert, Jeff Choral Director jreinert@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Tyson, Joshua Choral Director, Piano jtyson@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Weirich, Kyle Orchestra Director kweirich@elkhart.k12.in.us
Whitehead, Allan Ass’t Band Director awhitehead@elkhart.k12.in.us
PHYSICAL EDUCATION & HEALTH
Dickerson, Missie PE/Health Dept. Chair mdickerson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Erlacher, Matt PE/Health Teacher merlacher@elkhart.k12.in.us
Garretson, Amy PE/Health Teacher agarretson@elkhart.k12.in.us​ 
Milanese, Lisa Health Teacher lmilanese@elkhart.k12.in.us
Sekal, Scott PE/Health Teacher ssekal@elkhart.k12.in.us
Singrey, Barry PE/Health Teacher bsingrey@elkhart.k12.in.us
SCIENCE
Jantzen, Eric Science Dept. Chair ejantzen@elkhart.k12.in.us
Barnes, Scott Science Teacher sbarnes@elkhart.k12.in.us
Burkett, Keith Science Teacher kburkett@elkhart.k12.in.us
Cisneros, Erin Science Teacher ecisneros@elkhart.k12.in.us
Dauerty, Helene Science Teacher hdauerty@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hren, Jeremy Science Teacher jhren@elkhart.k12.in.us
Lawdenski, Dana Science Teacher dlawdenski@elkhart.k12.in.us
Loth, Dan Science Teacher dloth@elkhart.k12.in.us
McClelland, Paul Science Teacher pmcclelland@elkhart.k12.in.us
Schibley, Jessica Science Teacher jschibley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shull, Jolynn Science Teacher jshull@elkhart.k12.in.us
Titus, Rachel Science Teacher rtitus@elkhart.k12.in.us
SOCIAL STUDIES
Starzyk, Steve Social Studies Dept. Chair sstarzyk@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hicks, David Social Studies Teacher dhicks@elkhart.k12.in.us
Leeling, James Social Studies Teacher jleeling@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Tanisha Social Studies Teacher tdmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shattuck, Joshua Social Studies Teacher jshattuck@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shenk, Bekah Social Studies Teacher bshenk@elkhart.k12.in.us
Smith, Terry Social Studies Teacher tsmith@elkhart.k12.in.us
Tomac, John Social Studies Teacher jtomac@elkhart.k12.in.us
Warstler, Haley Social Studies Teacher hwarstler@elkhart.k12.in.us
Whickcar, Zach Social Studies Teacher zwhickcar@elkhart.k12.in.us
SPECIAL EDUCATION
Stutsman, Steve Special Ed. Dept. Chair steves@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Brown, Angela Special Ed. Teacher abrown@elkhart.k12.in.us
Foster, Barbara Paraprofessional dfoster@elkhart.k12.in.us
Conway, Carrie Paraprofessional cconway@elkhart.k12.in.us
Eby, Greg Paraprofessional geby@elkhart.k12.in.us
Eby, Roberta Paraprofessional reby@elkhart.k12.in.us
French, Cody Special Ed. Teacher efrench@elkhart.k12.in.us
Guthrie, Julie Special Ed. Teacher jguthrie@elkhart.k12.in.us
Holt, Lori Special Ed. Teacher lholt@elkhart.k12.in.us
Jones, Tim Special Ed. Teacher tjones@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Arissa Paraprofessional asmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Morningstar, Nancy Paraprofessional nmorningstar@elkhart.k12.in.us
Reid, Kelly Special Ed. Teacher kreid@elkhart.k12.in.us
Roscoe, Jan Paraprofessional jroscoe@elkhart.k12.in.us
Scott, Margret Paraprofessional mscott@elkhart.k12.in.us
Smith, Thelma Paraprofessional thelmas@elkhart.k12.in.us
Warlick, Shari Paraprofessional slwarlick@elkhart.k12.in.us
Watt, Cory Special Ed. Teacher cwatt@elkhart.k12.in.us
Weirich, Tracey Special Ed. Teacher tweirich@elkhart.k12.in.us
TECHNOLOGY
Elli, Theodore Technology Dept. Chair telli@elkhart.k12.in.us
Maure, James JAG Program jmaure@elkhart.k12.in.us
Sims, Yoketha Air Force JROTC ysims@elkhart.k12.in.us
WORLD LANGUAGES/ENL
Schneider, April W. Languages Dept. Chair aschneider@elkhart.k12.in.us
Burgess, Alexis ENL Teacher aburgess@elkhart.k12.in.us
DeVries, Maria ENL/Fr./Span. Teacher mdevries@elkhart.k12.in.us
Duff, Pam Spanish Teacher pduff@elkhart.k12.in.us
Espinosa, Jennifer French Teacher jespinosa@elkhart.k12.in.us
Fritschi, Susan German Teacher sfritschi@elkhart.k12.in.us
Garcia, Angela ENL Teacher apgarcia@elkhart.k12.in.us
Grubaugh, Faith ENL Teacher fgrubaugh@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hollett, Hiromi Japanese Teacher hhollett@elkhart.k12.in.us
House-James, Dinita Paraprofessional dhousejames@elkhart.k12.in.us
Short, Melissa Spanish Teacher mshort@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stauffer, Laura ASL Teacher lstauffer@elkhart.k12.in.us
Torres, Katrina Paraprofessional ktorres@elkhart.k12.in.us
Westbrook, Jason Latin Teacher jwestbrook@elkhart.k12.in.us
SUPPORT STAFF
Birkey, Cheryl Food Services Manager cbirkey@elkhart.k12.in.us
Coatie, Will ISS Supervisor wcoatie@elkhart.k12.in.us
Davila, Juan APEX Supervisor jdavila@elkhart.k12.in.us
Greene, William Detention Supervisor wgreene@elkhart.k12.in.us
Kinkaide, Jeff Head Custodian jkinkaide@elkhart.k12.in.us  
Freeland, Wendy Nurse wfreeland@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stahl, John Security Desk jstahl@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stahl, Yolanda Study Hall Supervisor ystahl@elkhart.k12.in.us 

 

School Improvement Plan

To see the Elkhart Central School Improvement Plan, please click here: Central School Improvement Plan.

 

 

Alumni Association Information

We’re proud of the long-standing alumni community who found success through Elkhart Central. Please check back here for information about upcoming Alumni events.