School Information 2017-08-17T13:06:42+00:00

 

Elkhart Central High School

Elkhart Central High School is considered the founding high school of Elkhart. Constructed in 1868, the original “Old Central” school in downtown Elkhart served students through 1965, when the present-day location of Elkhart Central High School was built. In 1972, under the expected growth of Elkhart, Elkhart Memorial High School opened a second high school on the west side of town and Elkhart High School formally became Elkhart Central High School. Currently, Elkhart Central has 112 classrooms, 13 modern computer labs, 14 science labs and 3 lecture halls. Elkhart Central offers over 200 courses designed to provide students with curriculum that meets state standards, but also engages them in the learning process based on their skills and interests. Elkhart Central’s highly-award Advanced Placement program offers 33 advanced placement courses, and the Elkhart Central Early College program has helped students earn over 11,000 college credits in the past two years.

 

School Hours and Location

School Hours: 7:25am to 2:40pm. Students are dismissed at 2:00pm on Wednesdays.
Office Hours: 7:00am to 3:30pm
School Address: One Blazer Boulevard, Elkhart, IN 46516
Phone Number: 574-295-4700

 

News/Upcoming Events

Please visit our News page to see the latest Central news and for a list of upcoming events!

 

Breakfast/Lunch Menus

At Elkhart Community Schools Food Services, we know that good nutrition and learning go hand in hand! The Nutrition Services department is made up of a team of food and nutrition professionals that are dedicated to students’ health, well being and their ability to learn. We support learning by promoting healthy habits for lifelong nutrition and fitness practices. Click here to see the ECS Food Services page, including menus.

 

Official School Policies

We invite you to review the Elkhart Community Schools’ Notice of Non-Discrimination and Student Handbook as adopted by the Elkhart Community Schools Board of School Trustees. All district-wide school forms can be found on the Elkhart Community Schools Policies and Forms page.

 

School Delays and Closings

Please visit the Elkhart Community Schools’ School Delay and Closing page for up-to-date, accurate information about school closings and delays, as well as make-up schedules. The district will also post about school closings and delays on the official ECS Facebook page and the official ECS Twitter page.

 

Staff Directory


ADMINISTRATION
Serge, Frank Principal fserge@elkhart.k12.in.us
Harrison, Rhiannon Assistant Principal rharrison@elkhart.k12.in.us
Sassaman, Scott Assistant Principal ssassaman@elkhart.k12.in.us
Berheide, Kelly Assistant Principal kberheide@elkhart.k12.in.us
Grasty, Jason Assistant Principal jgrasty@elkhart.k12.in.us
OFFICE SUPPORT
Behling, Susan Secretary sbehling@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Krull, Rosemary Secretary rkrull@elkhart.k12.in.us
Morningstar, Nancy Paraprofessional nmorningstar@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Stahl, Yolanda Study Hall ystahl@elkhart.k12.in.us 
ART
Sokolowski, Elizabeth Art, Chair esokolowski@elkhart.k12.in.us
Harrington, Kelly Visual Art Teacher kharrington@elkhart.k12.in.us
Jager, Ashley Art Teacher ajager@elkhart.k12.in.us
BUSINESS
Pletcher, Patti Business, Chair ppletcher@elkhart.k12.in.us
Balch, Jake Business Teacher jbalch@elkhart.k12.in.us
ENGLISH/LANGUAGE ARTS
Korn, Tracy English, Chair tkorn@elkhart.k12.in.us
Brown, Sheila English Para sbrown@elkhart.k12.in.us
Buckley, Kelly English Teacher kbuckley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Draeger, Thomas Carol English Teacher kdraegerthomas@elkhart.k12.in.us
Eggleston, Jane English Teacher jeggleston@elkhart.k12.in.us
Johnson, Michelle English Teacher mfjohnson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Olson, Jesse English Teacher jdolson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Riblet, Krista English Teacher kriblet@elkhart.k12.in.us
Smith, Leslie English Teacher lsmith@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stine, Amy English Teacher astine@elkhart.k12.in.us
Townsley, Brittany English Teacher btownsley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hill, Teresa English Teacher thill@elkhart.k12.in.us
Baker, Kristin English Teacher  kebaker@elkhart.k12.in.us
FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCE
Gorden, Anita FACS, Chair agorden@elkhart.k12.in.us
Allen, Kathy FACS kallen@elkhart.k12.in.us
GUIDANCE
Sarah Flagg Guidance, Chair sflagg@elkhart.k12.in.us
Kelly, Todd Guidance tkelly@elkhart.k12.in.us
Roberson, Regina Guidance
McCaskey, Teresa Counselor
INDUSTRIAL TECHNOLOGY
Elli, Theodore Technology, Chair telli@elkhart.k12.in.us
Battjes, Trudy Ind. Technology tbattjes@elkhart.k12.in.us
JAG
Maure, James
MATHEMATICS
Nelson, Jenna Math, Chair jnelson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Guzman, Emily Math Teacher eguzman@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Halloran-Barnes, Jill Math Teacher jbarnes@elkhart.k12.in.us
Kirkton, Jonathan Math Teacher jkirkton@elkhart.k12.in.us
Mackiewicz, Jim Math Teacher jnelson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Pletcher, John Math Teacher johnp@elkhart.k12.in.us
Slisz, Jill Math Teacher jslisz@elkhart.k12.in.us
Wilson, Sasha 9th Grade Math swilson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Dean, Kate Math Teacher kedean@elkhart.k12.in.us
BahBah, Neil Math Teacher nbahbah@elkhart.k12.in.us
MEDIA
Compton, Bradley Media, Chair bcompton@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hobson, Teresa Media Secretary thobson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Homan, Laura Computer Para lhoman@elkhart.k12.in.us
MUSIC
Niederer, William Music Chair, Choral wniederer@elkhart.k12.in.us
Baier, Laura Choir Accompanist lbaier@elkhart.k12.in.us
Burton, Dan Ass’t Band Director dburton@elkhart.k12.in.us
Cook, Sean Ass’t Band Director scook@elkhart.k12.in.us
Elliott, David Director of Bands delliott@elkhart.k12.in.us
Gwin, Lynn Ass’t Band Director lgwin@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hatfield, Jeffery Ass’t Orchestra Director jhatfield@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Kyle Ass’t Orchestra Director kmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Reinert, Jeff Choral Director jreinert@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Tyson, Joshua Choral Director jtyson@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Weirich, Kyle Director of Orchestras kweirich@elkhart.k12.in.us
P.E./HEALTH/ATHLETICS
Dickerson, Missie PE/Health, Chair mdickerson@elkhart.k12.in.us
Buckley, Brian Director of Athletics bbuckley@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shattuck, Josh Ass’t Athletic Director jshattuck@elkhart.k12.in.us
Bender,  Bodie PE/Health bbender@elkhart.k12.in.us
Erlacher, Matt PE/Health merlacher@elkhart.k12.in.us
Garretson, Amy PE/Health agarretson@elkhart.k12.in.us​ 
Milanese, Lisa Health lmilanese@elkhart.k12.in.us
SCIENCE
Jantzen, Eric Science, Chair ejantzen@elkhart.k12.in.us
Sawtelle, Sara Science ssawtelle@elkhart.k12.in.us
Titus, Rachel Biology rtitus@elkhart.k12.in.us
Hoffman, Peter Chemistry phoffman@elkhart.k12.in.us
McClelland, Paul Science pmcclelland@elkhart.k12.in.us
Birch, Sarah Science sbertsch@elkhart.k12.in.us
SPECIAL EDUCATION
Stutsman, Steve Special Ed, Chair steves@elkhart.k12.in.us 
Foster, Barbara Paraprofessional dfoster@elkhart.k12.in.us
Glantz, Robert Special Education rglantz@elkhart.k12.in.us
Holt, Lori Special Education lholt@elkhat.k12.in.us
Kijak, Karen Special Education kkijak@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miles, Matthew Special Education mmiles@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Kris Special Education kdmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Miller, Tanisha Special Education tdmiller@elkhart.k12.in.us
Perkey, Matt Special Education mperkey@elkhart.k12.in.us
Pratcher, Derria Paraprofessional dpratcher@elkhart.k12.in.us
Roach, Carol Special Education croach@elkhart.k12.in.us
SOCIAL STUDIES
Starzyk, Steve Social Studies, Chair sstarzyk@elkhart.k12.in.us
Nusbaum, Kathy Social Studies Teacher knusbaum@elkhart.k12.in.us
Drews, Carrie Social Studies Teacher cdrews@elkhart.k12.in.us
Warstler, Haley Social Studies Teacher hwarstler@elkhart.k12.in.us
Sadowey, John Social Studies Teacher jsadowey@elkhart.k12.in.us
Shenk, Bekah Social Studies Teacher bshenk@elkhart.k12.in.us
Smith, Terry Geography tsmith@elkhart.k12.in.us
WORLD LANGUAGES/ESL
Schneider, April W. Languages, Chair aschneider@elkhart.k12.in.us
DeVries, Maria ESL/World Languages mdevries@elkhart.k12.in.us
Espinosa, Jennifer French Teacher jespinosa@elkhart.k12.in.us
Forbes, Melissa Spanish Teacher mforbes@elkhart.k12.in.us
Garcia, Angela ESL Teacher apgarcia@elkhart.k12.in.us
McAninch, Scott German Teacher smcaninch@elkhart.k12.in.us
Stauffer, Laura ASL Teacher lstauffer@elkhart.k12.in.us
SUPPORT
Kinkaide, Jeff Head Custodian jkinkaide@elkhart.k12.in.us  
Freeland, Wendy Nurse wfreeland@elkhart.k12.in.us

 

School Improvement Plan

To see our full Elkhart Central School Improvement Plan, please click here: Central School Improvement Plan.

 

 

Alumni Association Information

We’re proud of the long-standing alumni community who found success through Elkhart Central. Please check back here for information about upcoming Alumni events.