School Information

Hawthorne Elementary is a diverse Pre-K through 6th grade school where every students’ academic needs are put first. The day incorporates Language Arts instruction using scientifically-based reading research. Math instruction includes a daily math review, problem solving and standards based lessons utilizing Everyday Mathematics. Many volunteers help support student learning through Elkhart’s CARES program. The staff prides itself in providing students a safe and caring learning environment with many extracurricular opportunities. Hawthorne is a place where learning is the expectation for all students.

School Hours

At Hawthorne, school is in session from 8:35am to 2:55pm on Mondays and 8:35am to 3:35pm on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. Monger’s office hours are 7:30am to 4:00pm, Monday through Friday.

School Address

Hawthorne is located on Lusher Ave., about one block west of Benham Ave. Hawthorne’s physical address is 501 Lusher Ave, Elkhart, IN 46517.

Staff Directory


Eric Chandler, Principal
Keith Baker, Assistant Principal
Shalynn Tinkel, Academic Dean
Bryan Hammontree, Dean of Behavior Support

Office Staff
Carol West, Head Secretary
Bethany Mowery, Assistant Secretary

Preschool – Karen Sproul
Preschool – Nancy Rodman
Kindergarten – Ellen Coget
Kindergarten – Taylor Feller
Kindergarten – Cassandra Pratt
First Grade – Amy Kindig
First Grade – Heidi Miller
First Grade – Katie Wilhelm
First Grade- Yahirra Jaimes
Second Grade- Katherine Bueter
Second Grade – Anna Ledyard
Second Grade –Angela Kucharski
Third Grade – Elizabeth DeMeester
Third Grade – Mackenzie Bontrager
Third Grade – Tiara Corkins
Third Grade – Michelle Troutman
Fourth Grade- Leah Michel
Fourth Grade – James Davisson
Fourth Grade – Lashawndra Gates
Fourth Grade – Kaylee Traver
Fifth Grade – Krista Dodd
Fifth Grade – Amanda Irons
Fifth Grade – Elizabeth Senders
Fifth Grade – Denise Uitdenhowen
Sixth Grade – Melissa Carr
Sixth Grade – Jaime Borkholder
Sixth Grade – Julie Plaia
Sixth Grade- Stephanie Hubler

Special Program Teachers
Art – Holli Ness
ESL – Naomi Baumgartner
ESL – April Kauffman
Intervention – Shane Betzer
Intervention –  Helen Stegman
Intervention – JoAnn Paulson
Music – Dawn Ashton
Physical Education – Dario Garza
Special Education – Natasha Gawthrop
Special Education – Katrina Foree
Special Education –  Debra Robinson

Additional Staff
Behavior Specialist – Susan Herr
Nurse – Tracy Mayfield
Social Worker – Jamie Bontreger
Speech Pathologist – Elizabeth Cauley

Support Staff
Behavioral Support- Debi Richardson
Behavioral Support- Steven Robinson Jr
Paraprofessional/Instructional –
Paraprofessional/Library – Deborah Clarkson
Paraprofessional/Intense Intervention – Dolly Lozano
Paraprofessional/ESL Technical assistant – Ercillia Maeda
Paraprofessional/Mild Intervention – Mellanie Miller
Paraprofessional/Keyboarding – Teila Hazwood
Paraprofessional/Mile Intervention- Andrea Yeager
Paraprofessional/Mild Intervention – Lindsey Walter
Head Custodian – Curtis Williams

School Supply List

Please see the Hawthorne School Supply List.

School Improvement Plan

To see our full Hawthorne School Improvement Plan, please click here: Hawthorne School Improvement Plan.[/fusion_builder_column][/fusion_builder_row][/fusion_builder_container]