Board of School Trustees Vacancy

Are you interested in shaping the future of Elkhart Community Schools? ECS is seeking candidates to fill a vacant seat on the board (vacated by At-Large Member Rodney Dale, who has moved outside the district). Any interested individual should submit the following items by 4:00pm on October 5 to Susan Ott, Board of School Trustees Administrative Assistant:
  • Letter of interest describing why you would be a good board member and outlining your involvement in Elkhart Community Schools
  • Resume
These items can be submitted via email to Materials can also be mailed to Mrs. Ott’s attention or dropped off at the JC Rice Education Services Center, 2720 California Road, Elkhart, Indiana, 46514.

Interested applicants need to be 21 years of age, live within the boundaries of the school corporation for at least one year prior to the appointment, and currently not be employed by the school district or willing to resign employment with the district upon appointment if currently employed by Elkhart Community Schools. Letters of interest and resumes are due to the corporation office by 4:00pm on Monday, October 5, 2020.

Once the board receives all application materials, the board will review applicants and determine whom to interview for the appointment. The interviews will take place during the October 13 work session prior to the board meeting, followed by a vote in the regular board meeting of the appointment. The newly appointed board member will take his or her seat at the October 27 board meeting.

According to Indiana law, when a vacancy occurs on a school board, the remaining board members have 30 days from the time of the vacating member’s resignation to seek applicants for the position and vote someone to the seat. If a majority of the board do not vote to approve an appointment within the 30 days, the circuit court judge names the appointee.


Board of School Trustees

Elkhart Community Schools is led under the direction of the Board of School Trustees, commonly referred to as the “school board.” The ECS school board is comprised of seven members from four districts, elected by registered voters living within the boundaries of Elkhart Community Schools. The Board’s main function is to oversee the operation of the school corporation and to promote continuous student improvement.

The Board of School Trustees is responsible for developing the policies by which our school system operates. It acts upon recommendations made by the superintendent and staff on a wide variety of matters including hiring personnel, developing the annual budget, authorizing the spending of funds, reviewing and revising curriculum, and other school issues. No one person or group of persons may act in the name of the board. For an item to become official, a majority of the board must vote in favor of the motion during an official public meeting.

Agendas for public meetings are available for your information (see below). Board members receive the agenda and supporting documents well in advance of each meeting so they can study the materials and be prepared to make decisions. Members of the community are encouraged to attend and welcome to speak at board meetings, as described below.

If you wish to contact any member of the Board of School Trustees, please contact the board secretary at 574-262-5506.

Kellie L. Mullins

Carolyn R. Morris
Vice President
District D

Roscoe L.  Enfield Jr.
District B

Babette S. Boling

Susan Daiber, Board Vice President
Susan C. Daiber
District A

No Photo Available
Open – See Information Above

Douglas K. Weaver
District C