School Information 2018-02-28T10:22:29+00:00


Elkhart Memorial High School

Elkhart Memorial High School opened in 1972, after the growth of Elkhart required a second high school to better serve the needs of the growing community. Currently, Memorial has 67 traditional classrooms, 8 modern computer labs, 11 science labs with adjoining classrooms, 4 lecture halls, a computerized writing lab, family and consumer sciences lab areas, and state-of-the-art industrial technology lab facilities. The industrial technology areas offer students modular stations for applied learning in the following: plastics, robotics, CNC machining, hydraulics and pneumatics, aerodynamics, motor circuitry, lasers, electronics, mechanical and architectural drafting, manufacturing systems, constructing systems, video editing, and computer assembly.


School Hours and Location

School Hours: 7:25am to 2:40pm. Students are dismissed at 2:00pm on Wednesdays.
Office Hours: 7:00am to 3:30pm
School Address: 2608 California Road, Elkhart, IN 46514
Phone Number: 574-262-5600


News/Upcoming Events

Please visit our News page to see the latest Memorial news and for a list of upcoming events!


Breakfast/Lunch Menus

At Elkhart Community Schools Food Services, we know that good nutrition and learning go hand in hand! The Nutrition Services department is made up of a team of food and nutrition professionals that are dedicated to students’ health, well being and their ability to learn. We support learning by promoting healthy habits for lifelong nutrition and fitness practices. Click here to see the ECS Food Services page, including menus.


Official School Policies

We invite you to review the Elkhart Community Schools’ Notice of Non-Discrimination and Student Handbook as adopted by the Elkhart Community Schools Board of School Trustees. All district-wide school forms can be found on the Elkhart Community Schools Policies and Forms page. Please also review Elkhart Memorial’s Student Attendance Policy.


School Delays and Closings

Please visit the Elkhart Community Schools’ School Delay and Closing page for up-to-date, accurate information about school closings and delays, as well as make-up schedules. The district will also post about school closings and delays on the official ECS Facebook page and the official ECS Twitter page.


Staff Directory

*Staff member names are links to their school email addresses

Cary Anderson, Principal
Frank Kurth, Vice Principal
Howard Edwards, Assistant Principal
LaTosha Bonds, Assistant Principal
Dennis Trigg, Assistant Principal

Deb Keller, Office Manager/Principal’s Secretary
Denise Kulp, Attendance Secretary
Laurie Crawford, Main Office Secretary
Darlene Ballard, Treasurer/Book Rental
Sara Valencia, Student Office

Art Department
Matthew Hartman, Department Chair
Whitney Goeglein
Kevin Hartman
Alia Munley

Business Education Department
Rodney Donigan, Department Chair
Bruce Baer
Sarah Bowerman

Engineering and Technology Department
Nicholas Seidl, Department Chair
Forrest Robertson

Family and Consumer Science Department
Rachael Meyers, Department Chair
Ann Jagla
Kara Sears

Language Arts Department
Kerry Leader, Department Chair
Jean Clements
Adriana Don
Todd Efsits
Sherri Greenfield-LudwigClassroom Page
Jeffrey Hemmerlein
Michael Henderson
Maria Hernandez
Adam Homo
Kathryn Lane
Megan Lewis
Kasey Lutrell
Lisa Miller
Eileen Misener
Elizabeth Regules
Corin Sailor
Heather Walker

Math Department
Alexander Holtz, Department Chair
Kathleen Bain
Kelly Blair
Lori Booker
Lance Carter
Gayle Davidhizar
Tina Davidhizar
Stephanie Doncilovic
Susan Efsits
Sarah Horn
Amanda Reichler
Kyle Sears
Amy SemancikClassroom Page
Julie Tyrakowski
Julie Willard

Music DepartmentMusic Department Website
Kurt Weimer
, Department Chair
David Brennan
Tim Carnall
Joshua Hren
Sean Diller
Molly Kellner
James Keranen
Jacob Robaska
Rebecca Yoder

Physical Education Department
Janie Boyden, Department Chair
Darlene Owings
Scott Rost
Scot Shaw

Science Department
Edward Hibshman, Department Chair
Austin Conner
Heather Fellows
Geetha John
Heidi KrusenklausClassroom Page
Rebecca Loar
Brenda Mueller
Erica ShannonClassroom Page
Eric Shipp
Jennifer Summers
John Taylor

Social Studies Department
Sonya Harrington, Department Chair
Stephen Asbury
Stefanie Foster
Erin Hartman
Adam Meyers
Brandon Miller
Todd Sheely
Andre Tchakerian
Joseph Waltz
Bryon Whitten

Special Education Department
Kristina Thomas-Bartley, Department Chair
Denise Downing
Franchesca Hawkins
Nicole Homo
Donald Knowlton
Stephanie Knowlton
Kris Miller
Linda Ogle
Steven Scott
Dana Soptich
Jana Spears
Tracey Weirich

World Languages Department
Stephanie Scalise, Department Chair
Jodi Buoscio
Tami Eder
Hiromi Hollett
Nouri Marrakchi
Scott McAnich
Jason Westbrook

Guidance Counseling Department
Michelle Kessler, Department Chair
Adrienne Bashore, Guidance Counselor
Camille Evans, Guidance Counselor
Lawrence Fielstra, Guidance Counselor
Allison Makowski, Guidance Counselor
David Replogle, Guidance Counselor
Summer Runyan, Guidance Counselor-Early College
Lisa Swann, Guidance-Early College Data Coordinator
Dave Replogle, Guidance – Social Worker
Michelle Yoder, Guidance Secretary
Maritza Banuelos, Guidance Registrar

Athletic Department
Jacquie Rost, Athletic Director
Phyllis Tubbs, Assistant Athletic Director
Rose Bloss, Athletic Department Secretary

Additional Memorial Staff
Officer Robert Presswood, School Resource Officer
Jeffrey Miller, Internships/Student Activities
Adriana Alvarez, JAG Coordinator
Colleen Shook, Media Center Director
Peggy Gay, Media Center Secretary
Donna Karacson, Cafeteria Manager
Willie Coleman, Head Custodian
Jennifer Geers, Nurse
Cherie Books, Security Kiosk
Sarah Miles, Attendance Social Worker
Major JG Dorman, AFJROTC
Senior Master Sargent Scott Rutledge, AFJROTC


School Improvement Plan

To see our full Elkhart Memorial School Improvement Plan, please click here: Memorial School Improvement Plan.



Alumni Association Information

We’re proud of the long-standing alumni community who found success through Elkhart Memorial. Please check back here for information about upcoming Alumni events.